Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami won the by-election for the Champawat Assembly seat on Friday by more than 55,025 votes and won 92% of the polled votes.

He defeated his closest rival Nirmala Gahtori from Congress.

While Dhami, who was handpicked by Prime Minister Narendra Modi to lead the state, won 92.94% or 58,258 of 62,683 polled votes, Nirmala got just 3,233.

Samajwadi party’s Manoj Bhatt got 409 and independent candidate Himanshu Garkoti 399 while NOTA polled 372.

Dhami was chosen as chief minister this time despite losing to Khatima in the Uttarakhand Assembly elections held in February.

As per the constitutional requirement, Dhami was to become a member of the state assembly within six months of his swearing in as chief minister.

Immediately after the announcement of the results, Modi congratulated Dhami and expressed confidence that he will now work even harder for the progress of the state.

“Congratulations to the dynamic CM Pushkar Singh Dhami of Uttarakhand for the record win in Champawat. I am confident that he will work even harder for the progress of Uttarakhand. I thank the people of Champawat for trusting BJP and commend our Karyakartas for their hard work,” Modi said.